The Wheel of the Year for 2024

The Wheel of the Year for 2024

Hello Mystic Mavens! 

Happy New Year! 

Today, let's embark on a mystical journey around the Wheel of the Year, a cornerstone of modern Paganism. This enchanting wheel guides us through the seasonal cycles and the sacred sabbats, weaving a tapestry of ancient traditions and natural rhythms.

1. Yule (Winter Solstice, ~December 21):

Our journey begins with Yule, the year's longest night. This sabbat is a celebration of the rebirth of the Sun. Pagans often light candles, gather around bonfires, and share stories to welcome back the light. It's a time of hope and renewal, where we reflect on the past and dream of the future.

2. Imbolc (February 1-2):

As we venture into early February, Imbolc marks the first signs of spring. Traditionally associated with the goddess Brigid, this festival is about purification, the kindling of the first fires of spring, and the awakening of the earth. Activities like lighting candles and crafting Brigid's crosses are common, symbolizing the returning warmth and light.

3. Ostara (Spring Equinox, ~March 21):

With Ostara, day and night stand in perfect balance. This equinox celebrates new life and fertility, echoing ancient spring rites. Decorating eggs, planting seeds, and honoring the youthful energy of the earth are popular ways to observe this joyful time.

4. Beltane (May 1):

Beltane, bursting with fertility and fire, heralds the arrival of summer. It's a time of passion and vitality, often celebrated with maypole dances, bonfires, and a general sense of abundance. This festival is deeply rooted in the union of masculine and feminine energies, symbolizing the fertility of all things.

5. Litha (Summer Solstice, ~June 21):

At Litha, we reach the peak of summer, the longest day of the year. Fire is a central element, representing the Sun at its maximum strength. Celebrations involve bonfires, feasting, and honoring the fullness and richness of life.

6. Lammas or Lughnasadh (August 1):

As the first harvest festival, Lammas marks a time of thanksgiving. It's a period to reap what we have sown, both literally in terms of crops and metaphorically in our lives. Baking bread and sharing it with loved ones is a beautiful way to celebrate the abundance of the earth.

7. Mabon (Autumn Equinox, ~September 21):

Mabon, the second harvest festival, brings another moment of balance. As we prepare for the approaching winter, it's a time to finish old projects and plan new ones. Giving thanks for the season's bounty and sharing food and wine are traditional ways to observe this equinox.

8. Samhain (October 31):

Samhain marks the end of the harvest and the beginning of winter. It's a time to remember our ancestors and those who have passed. Veils between worlds are believed to be thinnest, allowing for communication with the spirit world. Celebrations often include honoring the dead, divination practices, and reflecting on the cycle of life and death.

As we travel through the Wheel of the Year, each sabbat offers a unique perspective and connection to the cycles of nature. These celebrations remind us of our bond with the natural world and the rhythms that guide our lives.

In Paganism, the Wheel of the Year serves as a calendar and a spiritual and ecological framework, reminding us of our place in the larger cycle of life. As we honor each sabbat, we embrace the ever-turning wheel, finding joy, wisdom, and connection in its continuous cycle.

Blessings on your journey around the Wheel of the Year!

Tammy Tyree

Beneath the moon's mystic glow, Tammy Tyree crafts tales of enchantment and mystery. An award-winning author, Tammy invites you into her world of magical stories at, and her Mystic Maven Community at

Back to blog